Parks and Recreation Commission

image of gazebo

The Parks and Recreation Commission consists of seven members: one Alderperson, the superintendent of the Sun Prairie Area School District or the Superintendent's designee, and five (5) citizens of recognized experience and qualifications. The director of parks and recreation shall be an ex-officio non-voting member of the Commission.

Duties of the Parks & Recreation Commission

The Commission has all the powers conferred by law upon park, recreational, and in cities of the fourth class and is charged with the duties of making recommendations, overseeing work, and overseeing funds relating to all parks, playgrounds, and recreational activities as part of properties within the city.

The Parks and Recreation Commission determines the recreational needs of the public, and has jurisdiction over the public recreation program of the City.

Click here to read the full description of the Parks and Recreation Commission in Chapter 2.48 of the Sun Prairie Municipal Code of Ordinances.

Meeting Schedule

The Parks and Recreation Commission is charged with meeting at least monthly at the discretion of the Commission Chairperson, which is normally scheduled for the first Wednesday of the month at 4:30 p.m. at the Westside Community Services Building.